Switch to: V14V13V12V11V10V9V8V7V6V5

Workspaces Help

[PRO-feature]

Starting with version 12 Valentina Studio includes the workspaces feature.

Workspaces mechanism allows you to create different isolated environments for your different “projects” situations.

For example, if you do some work for multiple organizations, it can be useful to create separate workspaces for them.

The workspace includes the following components:

  • Bookmarks
  • SQL Snippets
  • Recent databases
  • Recent projects
  • Open connections
  • Open local databases
  • Query log

Previously, there was only one default set of such components. Now you can create as many workspaces as necessary and switch between them.

Default Workspace

On the first start of VStudio, you get into the Default workspace.

This workspace always exists and cannot be deleted.

Only in this workspace, you will be able to see online examples of databases and projects.

Manage Workspaces

You can manage Workspaces from the main menu or from the menu of the button “Workspaces” on the top-right of the toolbar.

Add Workspace

Use this command to create a new Workspace. In the following dialog specify the name.

New Workspace will be created in a clean state: no bookmarks, no recent. Like if you have to start Valentina Studio for the first time on your computer.

Remove Workspace

Use this command to remove the current workspace.

Be careful, operation is not undoable! This will remove all objects related to the workspace: bookmarks, recent, SQL snippets, etc.

Edit Workspace

This command allows you to rename the current workspace.

Synchronization

All workspaces can be synchronized with the cloud storage (e.g. iCloud, Dropbox, etc) if you have enabled this option in the preferences.

Saving Workspace State

Starting with version 13 Valentina Studio Pro saves the state of active workspaces and restores it on subsequent launch.

Workspace State

The workspace state contains the following information:

  • Open connections
  • Open databases
  • Open main windows
  • Open tabs (such as SQL Editor, Report Editor, and others)

If some tab, e.g. a Form Editor, contains unsaved changes, it is also automatically saved in the state information.

When the state saving has been enabled the state of all active workspaces is saved automatically on quitting the application.

On the next launch, all workspaces that are selected as current in open windows are restored.

Also, if you switch to a workspace with a saved state, it is restored as well.

You can disable state restoring just for one time – to do it, press and hold Alt/Option key.

Preferences

This feature can be turned on/off in the preferences: